Chester Jankowski: music catalogue

Chamber + Electroacoustic

Wind Trio, 1990.

For flute, clarinet and bassoon.

The piece is set out in four brief movements. Contrasting in texture and mood, the movements are nonetheless linked by common material: specifically, an eight-note set. Treatment of the set varies from primarily contrapuntal in the first movement, to melodic in the tiny, bi-partite second, to harmonic in the third. The final movement is the most substantial of the four. Composer and conductor Gary Kulesha referred to it as a "rip-snorting Tocatta... quite rhythmically complex and very exciting."

Wind Trio was composed between 1989 and 1990, during studies with Peter Paul Koprowski At the University of Western Ontario. The piece was featured in the first ever Young Composer's Workshop as part of the Academy of Avdanced Study at the Festival of the Sound in Parry Sound, Ontario during the summer of 1990. That performance was later broadcast on CBC Stereo's Music Around US.

Duration = c. 11 minutes


Browse graphics samples of the score:

Movement I

page 1 page 2 page 3

Movement IV

page 1